Book List: Romance Recs for V-Day! πŸ’–


As Valentine’s season approaches, I figured I would share some of my favorite romancey books and couples! Romance is my go-to genre (especially with LGBT+ rep) so I have plenty of recommendations to share!

Here are six of my favorites including some classics and some more recent picks:

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

Although it is no longer Christmas time, Dash and Lily will forever be my favorite literary couple! Everything about their relationship is insanely adorable!! Throughout this first book, readers witness the two develop a beautiful relationship starting as strangers and becoming so much more. In the second book, The Twelve Days of Dash & Lily, Dash shows off his romantic side while attempting to pull Lily out of a difficult time. He literally plans an ice skating date with librarians. He is the perfect book boyfriend! πŸ’– Together Dash and Lily make up an adorable duo! Also, I would argue it is still acceptable to read a Christmas romance if it is still winter… πŸ‘€


Wren Martin Ruins It All by Amanda Dewitt

The romance between Wren and Leo is so perfectly developed throughout this book. I typically hate the enemies-to-lovers trope, however, I enjoyed this book so so so much. The relationship was incredibly believable and I loved reading about it! πŸ₯Ί Wren and Leo were both very well-developed characters who were able to relate to each other through their own experiences and traumas. Also! Wren is asexual which is super cool to see represented in a romance novel! I feel like a lot of the time asexual characters in YA are also aromantic and so we only get to see one part of the asexual experience. This book was so refreshing and enjoyable!! I literally cannot recommend it enough!


Here the Whole Time by Vitor Martins

This book is the perfect palate cleanser for Valentine’s Day! Felipe has a crush but fears he is not good enough or too fat for Caio to ever like him. Their relationship blooms when they spend the next two weeks together in close proximity! Felipe and Caio are so beyond cute together! ALSO! Felipe begins to love himself throughout the book, which is the perfect twist to lovey-dovey Valentine’s Day book recs! It is important to love yourself!! 😀 The whole book is just so sweet and easy to read. At under 300 pages, you could indulge yourself and read it all on V-Day!


To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

This is the classic go-to YA romance! Lara Jean and her romantic adventures are the perfect read for Valentine’s Day! The first book has a fake dating trope which is my ultimate weakness. 🀧 And although I preferred John Ambrose McClaren in the second book, Lara Jean and Peter Kavinsky are probably perfect for each other. I also prefer this trilogy to The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy by the same author. These books seem to be written better and honestly are just more enjoyable, in my opinion. If you don’t feel like reading on Valentine’s Day, watch the movies on Netflix! and the Kitty spin-off!!


Heartstopper by Alice OSeman

I am sure you have already read Heartstopper, because who hasn’t at this point? Heartstopper holds such a special place in my heart. πŸ’– Nick and Charlie are the cutest couple and it’s so lovely to read about their relationship through the years. Nick is such a wonderful supportive boyfriend. πŸ₯Ί If you are unfamiliar with the graphic novel series, there are five published volumes that you can indulge in or you can watch the perfect Netflix adaption (season 1 is better than season 2 though, sorry!).


Date Me, Bryson Keller by Kevin Van Whye

This is another perfect palate cleanser! The relationship that blossoms between Kai and Bryson is so innocent, sweet, and romantic! Kai is in the closet but secretly dating Bryson, who is seemingly straight, for the week (it makes sense if you read the book lol). Throughout the week, Bryson learns much about himself and how he feels towards Kai. Bryson was such a lovely boyfriend who allowed Kai time and space to solve his own problems. He was incredibly supportive and accepting of not only Kai, but also himself! I loved this book and am obsessed with how cute the story and characters were. πŸ₯° You can read more about this book in my full review here!


So what are you reading in honor of Valentine’s Day?? I am always looking for new sweet romances to indulge in!

Leave a comment